Knight Center
Knight Center


Latin American Studies Association calls for nominations for 2018 Media Award

The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is asking for nominations for its 2018 Media Award recognizing outstanding coverage of Latin America.

LASA, a professional association dedicated to the study of Latin America, uses the award “to recognize long-term journalistic contributions to analysis and public debate about Latin America in the United States and in Latin America, as well as breakthrough journalism,” according to its site.

The winner will be announced at the LASA2018 Awards Ceremony in Barcelona, Spain in May 2018. Mariano Castillo, at the time working at the Associated Press in Atlanta, was the recipient of the 2017 LASA Media Award. Past awardees have also included Juan Luis Font (2016), Carlos Dada (2010), Julio Scherer (2004), Alma Guillermoprieto (1992) and Ray Bonner (1983).

LASA members and journalists can nominate a journalist from print or electronic media by Sept. 21. To nominate a journalist, send a copy of the journalist’s electronic portfolio, complete mailing address, telephone and fax numbers and email address to the LASA Secretariat at by the deadline.

Members of the Media Awards committee include Claudia Ferman (University of Richmond), June Erlick (Harvard University), Raul Peñaranda (National Endowment for Democracy), Ted Henken (Baruch College) and Héctor Levya (Universidad Autónoma de Honduras).


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter "Journalism in the Americas"

Boletim Semanal (Português)
Boletín Semanal (Español)
Weekly Newsletter (English)
Marketing by ActiveCampaign