Knight Center
Knight Center


Applications open for Knight International Journalism Award

The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) is seeking nominations for the Knight International Journalism Award, which honors those who "despite difficult circumstances, produce pioneering news reports or innovations that make a significant impact in their countries."

Mexican journalist Carmen Aristegui accepts the 2016 award on behalf of her team at Aristegui Noticias. (Alexander Morozov/ICFJ)

Nominees must be from and work in Latin America/Caribbean, Africa, Asia, Central/Eastern Europe, or the Middle East. They can include reporters, editors, technologists, media managers, citizen journalists or bloggers. You can also self-nominate.

Nominations are due by 11:59 p.m. Eastern time, Feb. 18, 2018.

Winners receive a US $10,000 cash prize, a trophy and a trip to Washington, D.C. to attend ICFJ's Awards Dinner on Nov. 8, 2018.

The award is supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Past winners from Latin America or the Caribbean include Aristegui Noticias of Mexico (2016); Yoani Sánchez of Cuba (2015); Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab Wilhelm of Mexico (2014); Mexican journalists Rocío Idalia Gallegos Rodríguez and Sandra Rodríguez Nieto (2011); and Daniela Arbex of Brazil (2010).


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter "Journalism in the Americas"

Boletim Semanal (Português)
Boletín Semanal (Español)
Weekly Newsletter (English)
Marketing by ActiveCampaign